PERIOD OF USE OF YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION

We will retain your Personal Information as set out in the following table, except where we are otherwise required to retain such data in accordance with law. Should you or we terminate your account for any reason, we will take steps to ensure that your Personal Information is no longer available through WeChat, or otherwise used by us, within a reasonable period of time (subject to technical limitations) after such account termination.

Information Type Retention Period
Registration data Until such time as you instruct WeChat to delete your account or you have not logged in for 180 days. Your account will be permanently deleted within 60 days of both verification of account ownership and the account deletion request.
Login data Information is retained for a period of 3 months from the date of such log in.
User profile search data Until you request removal or amendment of the Personal Information or your account is deleted, whichever is earlier.
Profile data and profile media (viewable by all users) Until you request removal or amendment of the Personal Information or your account is deleted, whichever is earlier (however, the data may be available if cached on third party services).
Profile data (viewable upon friend verification) Until you request removal or amendment of the Personal Information or your account is deleted, whichever is earlier (however, the data may be available if cached on third party services).
Additional account security Until you request removal or amendment of the Personal Information or your account is deleted, whichever is earlier (however, the data may be available if cached on third party services).
Chat – non-persistent and semi-persistent communication between users Data is retained for a period of 72 hours from the time of the relevant interaction and then permanently deleted.
Contacts list Until you request removal or amendment of the Personal Information or your account is deleted, whichever is earlier.
Location-based services and Location-based media Data is retained for a period of 72 hours from the time of the relevant interaction and then permanently deleted.
Moments and Favorites -- data and media Until you request removal or amendment of the Personal Information or your account is deleted, whichever is earlier (however, the data may be available if cached on third party services).
OpenID and Open ID media (given to third parties) Until you unfollow the third party developer’s application, Official Account, Mini Program or similar, or your account is deleted, whichever is earlier.
Provision of third party products and services (i.e. if you are a provider of an Official Account or Mini Program) Until such time as you instruct WeChat to delete your account. Your account will be permanently deleted within 60 days of both verification of account ownership and the account deletion request. Please note that the information disclosed to the third party is controlled by them. We will use reasonable efforts to seek that they delete such information when we do.
Information provided to an Official Account / Mini Program Until such time as you instruct WeChat to delete your account or you withdraw your permission / unfollow such third party. Please note that the information disclosed to the third party is controlled by them. We will use reasonable efforts to seek that they delete such information when we do.
Information provided to customer service Until such time as you instruct WeChat to delete your account. Your account will be permanently deleted within 60 days of the account deletion request.
Metadata / Log Data Data is retained for 3 months from the date of log in and then permanently deleted.
Device Data Until such time as you instruct WeChat to delete your account. Your account will be permanently deleted within 60 days of the account deletion request.
Social Connect Information Until such time as you instruct WeChat to delete your account or unbind your social account from your WeChat account. Your account will be permanently deleted within 60 days of the account deletion request.
Cookies Data is retained for 3 months from the date of log in and then permanently deleted.